School Logo

Curriculum Overview

At St Barnabas CEVC Primary School we plan our curriculum based on the new National Curriculum.  We endeavour to plan whole school themes in order that all the children can share their learning.  Our Long Term Plan (see document below) details what we will be learning over the next academic year and outlines briefly coverage over the following 4 years. Detailed information about the content and expectations of the curriculum for each year group can be found on each class page, together with a curriculum map which shows how this is being taught through the topic of the term.


Learning is planned around topics and themes giving new learning a context. Our curriculum is enriched through visits, both day and residential, and through visitors, who are experts in their field, coming into school to work alongside staff and children.  We also welcome the support of parents within the school.  We encourage parents who are able to come into school and either share their skills and interests with the children or support us with activities such as reading.


Teaching is not something we do to the children: we encourage them to be active participants, solving problems, developing independent skills and learning about themselves as learners.  In this way we equip our pupils with the skills that will not only enable them to be successful in academic terms, but also enable them to face new challenges or uncertainty with confidence.  Our curriculum encourages all pupils to take an active role and become reliable members of our community, respecting British values.


Curriculum content and organisation


Children in the reception class will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.  Pupils in Years 1 and 2 will work towards Key Stage 1 of the National Curriculum and those in 3, 4, 5 and 6 will work through Key Stage 2.


Foundation Stage (click to follow link to Early Years Foundation Stage guidance)


The first year at school in the reception class is known as the Foundation Phase.  This Phase is a continuation from the experiences your child will have had at nursery or pre-school.  The curriculum is divided into Prime Areas and Specific Areas of learning and progress is measured in month bands. Specific detail on how we teach reading are included within the section on the National Curriculum below.


Prime Areas


PSED (Personal, Social, Emotional Development).  This includes 3 areas: making relationships, self-confidence and self-awareness and managing feelings and behaviour.


Communication and Language.  This includes: listening and attention, Understanding and speaking


Physical Development. This is divided into two areas: moving and handling and health and self-care


Specific Areas


Literacy: reading and writing


Mathematics: numbers and shape space and measures


Understanding the World: people and communities, the world and technology


Expressive Arts and Design: exploring and using media and materials and being imaginative.


Learning experiences within and across these areas provide the children with an excellent skill base and an enthusiasm for learning which is then developed further as they begin the national curriculum in Year 1.


From Year 1 onwards the children follow the National Curriculum.


The National Curriculum  (click to follow link to detail of the National Curriculum) 


The National Curriculum provides the school with clear guidance and expectations for learning and attainment within each subject area.   Wherever possible the National Curriculum content is taught through topics which give a meaningful context to children’s learning and support links between subject areas.


In addition to the national curriculum subjects, we also teach Religious Education and Personal, Social and Health Education.  The following is an introduction to each curriculum area but your child’s class teacher or the Headteacher will be happy to provide you with more details should you require them.